Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum

A Parents Guide to the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

Children develop quickly in the early years and a child’s experiences between birth and five years have a major impact on their future life chances. The House of Colours Nursery team is committed to setting the standards for “Learning and Development” “Assessment” and “Child Protection” for children from birth to four years plus. There are 7 areas of Learning and Development with 17 goals, all areas are important and interconnected. 3 areas are particularly crucial for children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and develop. These 3 areas are the PRIME AREAS. Child care providers must also support in 4 SPECIFIC AREAS to strengthen the 3 PRIME AREAS.

Learning and Development: 17 goals

3 Prime Areas

I. Personal, Social ad Emotional

  1. Self confidence and  Self awareness
  2. Managing Feelings and  Behaviour
  3. Making Relationships

II. Communication and Language

  1. Listening and Attention
  2. Understanding
  3. Speaking

III. Physical Development

  1. Moving and Handling
  2. Health and Self Care

4 Specific Areas

IV. Literacy

  1. Reading
  2. Writing

V. Mathematics

  1. Numbers
  2. Shapes, Space and Measure

VI. Understanding the World

  1. People and Communities
  2. The World
  3. Technology

VII. Expressive Arts Design

  1. Exploring and Using Media and Materials
  2. Being Imaginative



Assessment plays an important part in helping parents and child care providers to recognize children’s progress, understand their needs, to plan activities and support. Ongoing assessment (formative assessment) is a part of the learning and developmental process. Assessments are made through daily observations, children’s portfolios and photographs. Settling in observations and parents Teacher meetings are offered to all parents.

Child Protection

Children learn best when they are healthy, safe and secure, when their individual needs are met and when they have healthy relationships with the adults caring for them. Each child on the Nursery is allocated a key person to bond with. The Nursery has a Designated Child Protection Officer (DCPO) Miss Christine O’Connor Nursery Director. The Director has taken part in a Ministry of Interior approved course to safeguard children. The Nursery has clear policies and procedures in place for recognising and reporting abuse and neglect. Staff have had Personal Professional Development (PPD) training in this sensitive area. The House of Colours is a safe, fun and active Nursery, the children will be happy and learning in a great environment.

Find out more

4 + 13 =